Scottish based physicists receive Institute of Physics Awards

3 July 2019

Professor Wilson Poon is awarded the Sam Edwards Medal and Prize and Professor Robert Hadfield is awarded the James Joule Medal and Prize.

Poon Hadfield award winners 2019
L-R: Prof Wilson Poon, Prof Robert Hadfield

Professor Wilson Poon wins for his outstanding contributions to the fundamental study of condensed matter physics, statistical physics and biophysics using model colloidal systems and Professor Robert Hadfield for the advancement of infrared single photon detection technology, through innovations in superconducting devices and cryogenic engineering.

The Institute of Physics awards aim to build and reinforce a sense of community by recognising and rewarding excellence in individuals and teams who have made a contribution to physics in the UK and Ireland.

They recognise, celebrate and reflect the impact and applications of physics in everyday life, the breadth of the discipline in academia, industry and medicine, and its impact in extraordinary human achievements and include awards for technicians, school teachers, researchers at all career stages and levels of academic achievement, and from across the HEI spectrum.

Congratulations go to all 30 people who will receive recognition in the IOP awards this year.

Cookie Settings