Awards for the highest scoring students in Scottish physics exams

2 December 2019

At the Science and the Parliament event on 20 November 2019 prizes and certificates were presented to students obtaining the highest marks in the 2019 Higher and Advanced Higher Physics courses.

Science and the Parliament is an annual event designed to develop dialogue between elected representatives and the scientific community.  It is organised by the Royal Society of Chemistry with the IOP as partners. This year the theme was 'Sustainability' and speakers included Sheila Rowan the Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland, Roseanna Cunningham MSP Cabinet Secretary for the Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform, and a panel of MSPs discussing science and the climate emergency. There was also an exhibition, which gave an excellent opportunity for our leading scientific societies, professional bodies, and universities to demonstrate their work.

Equal highest mark in higher physics was obtained by Craig Cochrane of Woodmill High School, Dunfermline and James Low of Craigmount High School, Edinburgh.

Lee Suddaby of Queen Anne High School, Dunfermline was presented with an award for advanced higher physics.

Heather Rowland of Bearsden Academy also scored the highest mark in advanced higher physics but was unable to collect her award in person due to study in England.

The awards were presented by Professor Sheila Rowan, the Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland.

Highest scoring students Scottish physics exam pic 1
From left to right: David Kennedy, Physics Teacher, Woodmill High School, Craig Cochrane, James Low and Gavin MacArthur, Physics Teacher, Craigmount High School.


Highest scoring students Scottish physics exam pic 2
Lee Suddaby with his grandmother, mother, and Alison McLure, IOP National Manager (Scotland).

Cookie Settings